Take Action

 

SB 50 is a radical California state law that will destroy thousands of homes and apartments to build luxury housing up to 8 stories high.

 

CALL TO ACTION!

Urgent Action by YOU is needed now

 

 Email your Oppose SB 50 comment to this Senate Governance and Finance Committee

To Send an Oppose SB 50 Email Click Here

 

 

Don’t forget to also contact your California state senator here: http://findyourrep.legislature.ca.gov

Help Stop SB 50 now:

 

 Call the Committee Members:

SENATE Governance & Finance Committee

Mike McGuire, Chair      (916) 651-4002     senator.mcguire@senate.ca.gov
John Moorlach, VC          (916) 651-4037     https://moorlach.cssrc.us/content/my-offices
Jim Beall                            (916) 651-4015    https://sd15.senate.ca.gov/send-e-mail
Robert Hertzberg            (916) 651-4018    https://sd18.senate.ca.gov/contact/email
Melissa Hurtado              (916) 651-4014    https://sd14.senate.ca.gov/contact
Jim Nielsen                        (916) 651-4004   https://nielsen.cssrc.us/content/email-me
Scott Wiener                      (916) 651-4011  https://sd11.senate.ca.gov/contact

 

 

 

Journalists need to be informed on the Impacts of SB 50

Please reach out to a handful of journalists, not just in your area but in parts of California still asleep on SB 50. Talk over what the bill really does. Explain in your own words. Share the talking points and ask them to review them. 

 

The goal is to change the media narrative about SB 50: This is not a softer version of SB 827. It is a much more radical bill that will harm cities large and small, and destroy communities and single-family communities nowhere near transit.

The longer reporters are in the dark, the less likely we will have an opportunity to influence how they frame the argument, and what they write.

Remember, most journalists operate in an echo chamber, pressed for time they repeat what they hear -- both from other journalists, lawmakers like Scott Wiener and experts who don't question the failed trickle down theory.

We are armed with facts and those can be used to shift the conversation.  Scott Wiener and his PR team -- including the developer lobbyist group California YIMBY — are doing the same.

Here are some tips in dealing with journalists: 

  1. Pick a journalist after typing in their name to see what pops up on Google. It doesn't matter if they haven't covered housing lately. It's just polite to know SOMETHING about their coverage before you contact them. VERY FEW reporters cover housing in and of itself -- almost nobody.
  1. Write an email expressing your concern about SB 50. Target the issue about the bill that most concerns you or will affect THEIR area. Pick one local journalist and one journalist in another area so we have a broad reach to journalists across the state. This is what will get the journalist's attention.  Add, a human interest angle, or an experience you have had regarding rising rents; developers overrunning your area with luxury housing with little affordable; transit ridership dropping in Los Angeles and other areas that continue to build luxury housing around rail stops; things that you can personally relate to and speak about.
  1. Include 3 to 4 bullets points with a few solid facts about how SB 50 will negatively and indiscriminately affect the entire state whether it is San Francisco or the smallest town. (use the SB 50 talking points).
  1. Be super polite and indicate that you are open to discussing your concerns in a conversation -- on the phone, and on the record.
  1. Once you have emailed them, follow up with a phone call to make sure the reporter has received your email.
  1. Always be polite.

 

Media List for SB 50

 

Ryan Sabalow: rsabalow@sacbee.com – Sacramento Bee

Phone: 1(916) 321-1264

Dale Kasler: dkasler@sacbee.com – Sacramento Bee

Phone: 1(916) 321-1066

Tony Bizjak: tbizjak@sacbee.com - Sacramento Bee

Phone: 1(916) 321-1059

Elijah Chiland : elijah@curbed.com - Curbed LA

Erin Baldassari: ebaldassari@bayareanewsgroup.com - San Jose Mercury

Phone: 1(510) 208-6428

George Avalos: gavalos@bayareanewsgroup.com - San Jose Mercury:

Phone: 1(408) 859-5167

Marisa Kendall: local@bayareanewsgroup.comSan Jose Mercury:

Phone: 1(408) 920-5000

Rachel Swan:  rswan@sfchronicle.comSan Francisco Chronicle :

Phone: 1(415) 777-1111 

Kimberly Veklerov: metro@sfchronicle.com - San Francisco Chronicle

Dominic Fracassa: dfracassa@sfchronicle.com - San Francisco Chronicle:

Phone: 1(415) 777-8497

Phil Matier in the San Francisco Chronicle: pmatier@sfchronicle.com

Rachael Myrow: rmyrow@kqed.org - KQED

Phone: 1(415) 553-2129

Matt Levin: matthew.levin@chron.com - Calmatters

Phone: 1(713) 362-717

Rory Appleton: rappleton@fresnobee.comFresno Bee:

Phone: 1(559) 441-6015

Kevin Valine: kvaline@modbee.com - Fresno Bee:

Phone: 1(209) 578-2366

Robert Digitale: kvaline@modbee.com - Santa Rosa Press Democrat :

Phone:1(209) 578-2366

Jeff Collins: jeffcollins@scng.com -  Riverside Press Enterprise

Phone: 1(714) 796-7734 

Mike Sprague: msprague@scng.com  - Riverside Press Enterprise – Whittier Daily News

Phone: 1(562) 567-7537

Jonathan Lansner: jlansner@scng.com - Orange County Register Business Columnist

Phone: 1(949) 777-6727

Lisa Halverstadt Voiceofsandiego.org

Gary Warth: gary.warth@utsandiego.com - San Diego Union-Tribune:

Phone: 1(760) 529-4939

Phillip Molnar: phillip.molnar@sduniontribune.com - San Diego Union-Tribune - covers homelessness

Phone: 1(619) 293-1891

Harry Jones: phillip.molnar@sduniontribune.com - San Diego Union-Tribune – Business reporter

Phone: 1(619) 293-1891

Joel Fox Fox & Houndsjoel@foxandhoundsdaily.com

Tom Giles:  tgiles5@bloomberg.net - Bloomberg

Phone: 1(212) 617-7179

 

 

Join Livable California to Receive Action Alerts 

         Join Us to Make a Difference - Click Here

 

Become Active with Livable California

Come to one of our Monthly Meetings in San Francisco at the Taraval Police station community room, 2345  24th Avenue

See the latest meeting schedule on our Calendar - Click Here

 Join Livable California to Receive Meeting Announcements - Click Here

 

Donate to Livable California 

Donate Now - Click Here

Contact Your State Representative

         Contact your state Senator or Assemblyperson! They need to hear from you. 

         Find your Senator or Assemblyperson - Click Here

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our Communities

California's Future

Join Livable California to Make a Difference